The European Structural and Investment Funds consist of five funds that support economic, social and territorial cohesion:


  •  European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)
  •  European Social Fund (ESF)
  •  Cohesion Fund (CF)
  •  European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD)
  •  European Maritime and Fisheries Fund (EMFF)


Every European Union (EU) region may benefit from the ERDF and ESF but only the less developed regions are eligible for CF support. Under the new rules, EU countries are required to implement strategic plans with investment priorities covering these five Funds. Once the partnership agreements have been adopted, the Commission and the national authorities agree on programmes setting out the priorities for each country or policy area.


Contact the managing authority in your country for more information about funding individual projects.


These websites are available in all official EU languages